Parliament buildings  [image: Gareth Watkins]

Parliament buildings

Committee of the Whole House

Audio from the committee stage of the Criminal Records (Expungement of Convictions for Historical Homosexual Offences) Bill. It was introduced into Parliament by the Justice Minister Amy Adams on 6 July 2017. It is the first expungement scheme to be created in New Zealand. The Bill was reported back to the House without amendment. The report was then unanimously adopted.

HTML5 pop-up player   Committee of the Whole House (1:24:21)     HTML5 player   Flash player   Mp3    HQ mp3    AI Text

Note this item contains references to mental health.  If you need support you can find a variety of support services on the links page

Voices: Adrian Rurawhe, Alfred Ngaro, Andrew Little, Barbara Kuriger, Clare Curran, Darroch Ball, Duncan Webb, Ginny Andersen, Greg O'Connor, Hamish Walker, Kiritapu Allan, Kris Faafoi, Matt King, Poto Williams, Priyanca Radhakrishnan, Raymond Huo, Tamati Coffey, Trevor Mallard

Tags: 1980s, 2010s, adrian rurawhe, alfred ngaro, amy adams, andrew little, aotearoa new zealand, auckland, australia, barbara kuriger, bill of rights act (1990), buggery, clare curran, compensation, concealed conviction, consensual sex, consent, convictions, crime, crimes act (1908), crimes act (1961), criminal background check, criminal history, criminal record, criminal records (clean slate) act (2004), criminal records (expungement of convictions for historical homosexual offences) act 2018, criminalisation, darroch ball, decriminalisation, discrimination, duncan webb, expungement, family, fear, gay, gender identity, ginny andersen, greg o'connor, hamish walker, historic convictions, homosexual, homosexual law reform, homosexual law reform act (1986), indecent act, justice committee, kiritapu allan, kris faafoi, law, legislation, marae, marriage amendment act (2012), matt king, member of parliament, mental health, national party, new zealand labour party, new zealand police, pardon, petition, petition on historic convictions, police, poto williams, prejudice, priyanca radhakrishnan, public records act (2005), raymond huo, secretary for justice, select committee, sexual orientation, statistics new zealand, stigma, tamati coffey, tangi, transexual, transgender, trauma, trevor mallard, united kingdom, unnatural offence, vulnerable children act (2014), wales, wellington, whanau, wiremu demchick, yogyakarta principles (2006)


  • 0:00:00 - Trevor Mallard (Speaker)
  • 0:00:22 - Poto Williams (Chairperson)
  • 0:00:33 - Kiritapu Allan (List, Labour Party)
  • 0:05:10 - Priyanca Radhakrishnan (List, Labour Party)
  • 0:15:16 - Matt King (Northland, National Party)
  • 0:18:53 - Andrew Little (Justice Minister, List, Labour Party)
  • 0:23:37 - Raymond Huo (List, Labour Party)
  • 0:33:40 - Greg O'Connor (Ohariu, Labour Party)
  • 0:38:40 - Ginny Andersen (List, Labour Party)
  • 0:43:42 - Andrew Little (Justice Minister, List, Labour Party)
  • 0:48:45 - Clare Curran (Dunedin South, Labour Party)
  • 0:53:40 - Duncan Webb (Christchurch Central, Labour Party)
  • 0:56:09 - Kris Faafoi (Mana, Labour Party)
  • 0:59:20 - Andrew Little (Justice Minister, List, Labour Party)
  • 1:08:35 - Barbara Kuriger (Taranaki-King Country, National Party)
  • 1:08:42 - Tamati Coffey (Waiariki, Labour Party)
  • 1:13:50 - Alfred Ngaro (List, National Party)
  • 1:13:52 - Darroch Ball (List, New Zealand First)
  • 1:17:54 - Andrew Little (Justice Minister, List, Labour Party)
  • 1:22:55 - Hamish Walker (Clutha-Southland, National Party)
  • 1:23:00 - Vote, Adrian Rurawhe (Chairperson)
  • 1:23:42 - Poto Williams (Assistant Speaker)

Citation information

Record date:28th March 2018
Audio courtesy of:Parliament TV