Search Browse On This Day Map Quotations Timeline Research Free Datasets Remembered About Contact

The OurFest Awards - Here's who made the finals!

Wed 10 Feb 2010 In: Community View at Wayback View at NDHA

The OurFest team has announced the finalists in the inaugural Auckland LGBT OurFest Awards. Working from hundreds of nomination forms from the community, a panel of GLBT community representatives from business, media and gay venues assembled last weekend for several hours of heated and lengthy discussions over the nine awards categories. "One particular category alone took almost an hour to decide on," says OurFest chairperson Kent Phillips, who kept the judges fed and watered as they pored over the nominations. "The judging panel was very pleased with the overall outcome. All finalists should be congratulated, as this is a real achievement to be acknowledged in a formal way by your own peers." The finalists are: BUSINESS OF THE YEAR (sponsored by GABA) Family Bar - K' Road gay nightspot - NZ's LGBT community website Urge Bar - K' Road men's bar COMMUNITY HERO OF THE YEAR (sponsored by Body Positive) Michael Bancroft - Caregiver of the AIDS Memorial Quilt Peter Taylor - Co-owner of Dot's bar Wayne Nicholas - Promoter of Wigs on the Waterfront and other LGBT charity events GAY MALE OF THE YEAR (sponsored by Urge Bar) Bruce Kilmister - CEO of Body Positive Matt Akersten - journalist Steven Oates - MC at wide range of LGBT events Tamati Coffey - Winner of TV's Dancing with the Stars LESBIAN OF THE YEAR (sponsored by Auckland Women's Centre) Cissy Rock - Founder of website The Lowdown (sponsored by Staging Connections) Buckwheat - Seen at Family bar and several LGBT charity events Buffy other charity fundraisers Cindy of Samoa - Seen at Family bar's Wednesday night karaoke Topp Twins - Stars of award-winning movie doco Untouchable Girls PERSONALITY OF THE YEAR (sponsored by Ascension Wines) Miss Ribena - Family bar's MC and events coordinator Peter Taylor - Dot's bar co-owner Steven Oates - MC at wide range of LGBT events Tamati Coffey - Winner of TV's Dancing with the Stars SPORTSPERSON OF THE YEAR (sponsored by Out of the Blue) Bren JD - Hockey player at World Outgames Auckland Gay Bowling Team TRANSPERSON OF THE YEAR (sponsored by GenderBridge) Cindy of Samoa - MC at Family bar's Wednesday night karaoke Ramon Te Wake - Singer and event MC Thomas Hamilton - Executive Director of Rainbow Youth YOUNG PERSON OF THE YEAR (sponsored by Rainbow Youth) Clint Woolly - Vice-Chair of Rainbow Youth Lil Cameron - Writer, publicist and volunteer for a range of LGBT events Toni Reid - Chairperson of Rainbow Youth The winners of each category are eligible for the Supreme Award, sponsored by RedFlame Media. In addition to the above categories, five Recognition of Achievement Awards will also be handed out, with the recipients to be revealed on awards night.   The 2010 OurFest Awards night will be held on Friday 19 February at Eden Park's ASB Lounge.   Tickets are still available for $85, which includes a two-course buffet meal and evening's entertainment. Tickets are available online at or from one of the following venues: DJ Station - 251 Karangahape Road, Auckland Dot's Bar - 223 Symonds Street, Auckland Kamo Bar/Restaurant - 382 Karanghape Road, Auckland Rainbow Youth - 281 Karangahape Road, Auckland (only until 12th February 2010) Urge Bar - 490 Karangahape Road, Auckland Women's Bookshop - 105 Ponsonby Road, Auckland     OurFest - 10th February 2010

Credit: OurFest

First published: Wednesday, 10th February 2010 - 2:07pm

Rights Information

This page displays a version of a article that was automatically harvested before the website closed. All of the formatting and images have been removed and some text content may not have been fully captured correctly. The article is provided here for personal research and review and does not necessarily reflect the views or opinions of If you have queries or concerns about this article please email us