Search Browse On This Day Map Quotations Timeline Research Free Datasets Remembered About Contact

CU vote - MPs named

Fri 25 Jun 2004 In: New Zealand Daily News

The names of MPs who voted for and against the first reading of the Civil Union bill have been released. Six Labour MPs voted against the legislation, and three abstained. The abstentions were Ashraf Choudhary, Winnie Laban and Janet Mackey. The "noes" were Harry Duynhoven, Clayton Cosgrove, Paul Swain, John Tamihere, Taito Philip Field, and Damien O'Connor. ACT's Deborah Coddington voted against also, despite her public proclamations of individual choice, as did National MP Maurice Williamson in spite of the lip service paid to gay communities in the past. Only five National MPs voted for: Don Brash, Katherine Rich, Pansy Wong, Clem Simich and Lockwood Smith. The purpose of this vote was not to pass the bill into law, but to send it to a select committee for further debate.    

Credit: News Staff

First published: Friday, 25th June 2004 - 12:00pm

Rights Information

This page displays a version of a article that was automatically harvested before the website closed. All of the formatting and images have been removed and some text content may not have been fully captured correctly. The article is provided here for personal research and review and does not necessarily reflect the views or opinions of If you have queries or concerns about this article please email us