Search Browse On This Day Map Quotations Timeline Research Free Datasets Remembered About Contact

New National MP Claudette Hauiti sworn in

Wed 29 May 2013 In: New Zealand Daily News

Auckland TV producer and mum of three Claudette Hauiti has made history, becoming the first openly-lesbian National MP.* She was sworn in at Parliament this afternoon, taking her oath in Maori. She has come in off the list to replace the disgraced Aaron Gilmore. The full list of openly gay or lesbian MPs is now: Christopher Finlayson and Claudette Hauiti (National), Grant Robertson, Maryan Street and Louisa Wall (Labour) and Kevin Hague and Jan Logie (Greens).   [* Marilyn Waring was not widely known to be lesbian when was voted into Parliament by the rural Raglan electorate in 1975. She served nine years with distinction as a National MP during which time she was outed by Truth newspaper.]    

Credit: Daily News staff

First published: Wednesday, 29th May 2013 - 2:18pm

Rights Information

This page displays a version of a article that was automatically harvested before the website closed. All of the formatting and images have been removed and some text content may not have been fully captured correctly. The article is provided here for personal research and review and does not necessarily reflect the views or opinions of If you have queries or concerns about this article please email us