Search Browse On This Day Map Quotations Timeline Research Free Datasets Remembered About Contact

The "Marriage Bill": How the MPs voted

Tue 13 Dec 2005 In: Features

The voting on last week's defeated Marriage (Gender Clarification) Bill may provide a good indication of how the current crop of MPs MPs will vote on sexuality-related conscience issues. Check here to see how your MP voted on the bill which sought, rather unnecessarily, to have marriage ring-fenced for male/female couples only. AYES - 47 Labour 1: Field (Mangere). National 36: Ardern (Taranaki-King Country); Auchinvole (list); Bennett D (Hamilton East); Bennet P (list); Blue (list); Borrows (Whanganui); Brash (list); Brownlee (Ilam); Carter D (list); Carter J (Northland); Clarkson (Tauranga); Coleman (Northcote); Collins (Clevedon); Dean (Otago); English (Clutha-Southland); Foss (Tukituki); Goodhew (Aoraki); Goudie (Coromandel); Guy (list); Hayes (Wairarapa); Heatley (Whangarei); Hutchison (Port Waikato); King C (Kaikoura); Mapp (North Shore); McCully (East Coast Bays); Peachey (Tamamk); Roy (Invercargill); Ryall (Bay of Plenty); Smith L (Rodney); Smith N (Nelson); Tisch (Piako); Tolley (East Coast); Tremain (Napier); Wagner (list); Wilkinson (list); Worth (list). New Zealand First 5: (Brown (list); Paraone (list); Peters (list); Stewart (list); Woolerton (list). United Future 3: Copeland (list); Dunne (Ohariu-Belmont); Turner (list). ACT New Zealand 2: Hide (Epsom); Roy (list). NOES - 73 Labour 49: Barker (list); Barnett (Christchurch Central); Benson-Pope (Dunedin South); Beyer (list); Burton (Taupo); Carter C (Te Atatu); Chadwick (Rotorua); Choudhary (list); Clark (Mt Albert); Cosgrove (Waimakariri); Cullen (list); Cunliffe (New Lynn); Dalziel (Christchurch East); Duynhoven (New Plymouth); Dyson (Banks Peninsula); Fairbrother (list); Fenton (list); Gallagher (Hamilton West); Goff (Mt Roskill); Gosche (Maungakiekie); Hartley (list); Hawkins (Manurewa); Hereora (list); Hobbs (Wellington Central); Hodgson (Dunedin North); Horomia (Ikaroa-Rawhiti); Hughes (Otaki); Jones (list); King A (Rongotai); Laban (Mana); Mackey (list); Maharey (Palmerston North); Mahuta (Tainui); Mallard (Hutt South); Moroney (list); O'Connor (West Coast-Tasman); Okeroa (Te Tai Tonga); Parker (list); Pettis (list); Pillay (Waitakere); Ririnui (list); Robertson (Manukau East); Samuels (list); Street (list); Sutton (list); Swain (Rimutaka); Tizard (Auckland Central); Wilson (list); Yates (list). National 12: Blumsky (list); Connell (Rakaia); Finlayson (list); Groser (list); Henare (list); Key (Helensville); Power (Rangitikei); Rich (list); Simich (list); te Heuheu (list); Williamson (Pakuranga); Wong (list). New Zealand First 2: (Donnelly (list); Mark (list). Green Party 6: Bradford (list); Fitzsimons (list); Kedgley (list); Locke (list); Tanczos (list); Turei (list). Maori Party 3: Flavell (Waiariki); Harawira (Te Tai Tokerau); Sharples (Tamaki Makaurau). Progressive 1: Anderton (Wigram). - 13th December 2005    


First published: Tuesday, 13th December 2005 - 12:00pm

Rights Information

This page displays a version of a article that was automatically harvested before the website closed. All of the formatting and images have been removed and some text content may not have been fully captured correctly. The article is provided here for personal research and review and does not necessarily reflect the views or opinions of If you have queries or concerns about this article please email us