Article Title:And the Lavender Globe winners are...
Author or Credit:Chris Banks
Published on:26th July 2005 - 12:00 pm
Story ID:837
Text:Former UniQ Otago co-ordinator Nathan Brown says he's honoured to have been named Queer of the Year at this year's Lavender Globe Awards, which recgonises those who have made special contibutions to the fabric of Dunedin's GLBT community. Other awards included Young Person of the Year, Queer-friendly Business of the Year, Sportsperson of the Year, Queer Organisation of the Year, and Supreme Queer Avenger. The award presentations were held as part of Dunedin Pride Week. In accepting Queer of the Year, Brown made special mention of his fellow nominees, Grant Benson and Cheryl Langveldt. "Cheryl was been a loyal member of the community for many years and is ever involved, lending a hand, and doing her part for queer visibility," he says. "Grant, particularly has been my right hand man in much of the work that I have done with UniQ and FUNQ, while I have been alongside him when he has organised past Pride Weeks. I believe that both Cheryl and Grant are equally deserving of this award but am quite honoured to be the one who got to take it home on Saturday night." But it wasn't all serious. Those who sought the coveted title of Mr and Ms Pride Week had to throw all modesty out the window and convince an audience in 30 seconds that they were worthy of the title. The winners, decided by audience response, received $100 cash, a $30 bar tab and flowers. FULL LIST OF WINNERS The Hilltop on High St Queer Community Organisation/Service of the Year Nominees: PFLAG South Rainbow Families UniQ Otago Winner: UniQ Otago Lure Queer Friendly Business of the Year Nominees: Refuel Bronx Bagels Anja Klinket Winner: Bronx Bagels Get Into It Not Out Of It Sportsperson of the Year Nominees: Sandra Adams Kezia Erica Woolfe Winner: Kezia Miss Reid Young Person of the Year award (under 25) Nominees: John Broadbent Pamela Dwyer Maria Welborn Winner: Pamela Dwyer Rainbow Labour NZ Supreme Queer Avenger Nominees: Barb and Tor Devereux Pamela Dwyer Ralph Body Winner: Barb and Tor Devereux Wildpair Queer of the Year Nominees: Grant Benson Cheryl Langveldt Nathan Brown Winner: Nathan Brown Chris Banks - 26th July 2005    
Disclaimer:This page displays a version of the article with all formatting and images removed. It was harvested automatically and some text content may not have been fully captured correctly: access this content at your own risk. A copy of the full article is available (off-line) at the Lesbian and Gay Archives of New Zealand. This online version is provided for personal research and review and does not necessarily reflect the views or opinions of If you have queries or concerns about this article please email us
Reproduction note:Just before closed in May 2017, the website owners wrote this article about reproducing content from the website: "our work has always been available for glbti people to use and all we ask is that you not plagiarise it... if you use it anywhere please attribute it to and where there is an authors name attached please acknowledge that writer."