Title: How your MP voted Credit: Features Tuesday 29th June 2004 - 12:00pm1088467200 Article: 315 Rights
The final vote on Civil Unions was 66 in favour of sending it to a select committee for public input and debate, to 50 against. Your MP is there to represent your view in Parliament... so how did your MP vote? AYES: 66 Jim Anderton (Prog C, Wigram). Rick Barker (Lab, Tukituki). Tim Barnett (Lab, Christchurch Central). David Benson-Pope (Lab, Dunedin South). Georgina Beyer (Lab, Wairarapa). Sue Bradford (Greens, list). Don Brash (Nat, list). Mark Burton (Lab, Taupo). Chris Carter (Lab, list). Steve Chadwick (Lab, Rotorua). Helen Clark (Lab, Mt Albert). Michael Cullen (Lab, list). David Cunliffe (Lab, New Lynn). Lianne Dalziel (Lab, Christchurch East). Rod Donald (Greens, list). Brian Donnelly (NZ First, list). Helen Duncan (Labour, list). Ruth Dyson (Lab, Banks Peninsula). Gerrard Eckhoff (ACT, list). Ian Ewen-Street (Greens, list). Russell Fairbrother (Lab, Napier). Jeanette Fitzsimons (Greens, list). Stephen Franks (ACT, list). Martin Gallagher (Lab, Hamilton West). Phil Goff (Lab, Mt Roskill). Mark Gosche (Lab, Maungakiekie). Ann Hartley (Lab, Northcote). George Hawkins (Lab, Manurewa). Dave Hereora (Lab, list). Rodney Hide (ACT, list). Marian Hobbs (Lab, Wellington Central). Pete Hodgson (Lab, Dunedin North). Parekura Horomia (Lab, Ikaroa-Rawhiti). Darren Hughes (Lab, Otaki). Jonathan Hunt (Lab, list). Sue Kedgley (Greens, list). Annette King (Lab, Rongotai). Keith Locke (Greens, list). Moana Mackey (Lab, list). Steve Maharey (Lab, Palmerston North). Nanaia Mahuta (Lab, Tainui). Trevor Mallard (Lab, Hutt South). Ron Mark (NZ First, list). Mahara Okeroa (Lab, Te Tai Tonga). David Parker (Lab, Otago). Mark Peck (Lab, Invercargill). Jill Pettis (Lab, Whanganui). Lynne Pillay (Lab, Waitakere). Richard Prebble (ACT, list). Katherine Rich (Nat, list). Mita Ririnui (Lab, Waiariki). Ross Robertson (Lab, Manukau East). Matt Robson (Prog C, list). Heather Roy (ACT, list). Dover Samuels (Lab, Te Tai Tokerau). Ken Shirley (ACT, list). Clem Simich (Nat, Tamaki). Lockwood Smith (Nat, Rodney). Jim Sutton (Lab, Aoraki). Nandor Tanczos (Greens, list). Judith Tizard (Lab, Auckland Central). Metiria Turei (Greens, list). Mike Ward (Greens, list). Margaret Wilson (Lab, list). Pansy Wong (Nat, list). Dianne Yates (Lab, list). NOES: 50 Paul Adams (UF, list). Marc Alexander (UF, list). Shane Ardern (Nat, Taranaki-King Country). Donna Awatere Huata (Independent). Larry Baldock (United Future, list). Peter Brown (NZ First, list). Gerry Brownlee (Nat, Ilam). David Carter (Nat, list). John Carter (Nat, Northland). Brent Catchpole (NZ First, list). Deborah Coddington (ACT, list). Judith Collins (Nat, Clevedon). Brian Connell (Nat, Rakaia). Gordon Copeland (UF, list). Clayton Cosgrove (Lab, Waimakariri). Peter Dunne (UF, Ohariu-Belmont). Harry Duynhoven (Lab, New Plymouth). Bill English (Nat, Clutha-Southland). Taito Phillip Field (Lab, Mangere). Sandra Goudie (Nat, Coromandel). Bill Gudgeon (NZ First, list). Phil Heatley (Nat, Whangarei). Paul Hutchison (Nat, Port Waikato). Dail Jones (NZ First, list). John Key (Nat, Helensville). Wayne Mapp (Nat, North Shore). Murray McCully (Nat, Albany). Craig McNair (NZ First, list). Muriel Newman (ACT, list). Damien O'Connor (Lab, West Coast-Tasman). Bernie Ogilvy (UF, list). Pita Paraone (NZ First, list). Edwin Perry (NZ First, list). Jim Peters (NZ First, list). Winston Peters (NZ First, Tauranga). Simon Power (Nat, Rangitikei). Tony Ryall (Nat, Bay of Plenty). Lynda Scott (Nat, Kaikoura). Murray Smith (UF, list). Nick Smith (Nat, Nelson). Roger Sowry (Nat, list). Barbara Stewart (NZ First, list). Paul Swain (Lab, Rimutaka). John Tamihere (Lab, Tamaki Makarau). Georgina te Heuheu (Nat, list). Lindsay Tisch (Nat, Piako). Judy Turner (UF, list). Maurice Williamson (Nat, Pakuranga). Doug Woolerton (NZ First, list). Richard Worth (Nat, Epsom). A number of the MPs who voted in favour of sending the Bill to subcommittee told parliament they voted solely to see the Bill debated but don't believe they will ever vote it into law. - 29th June 2004    
This page displays a version of the article with all formatting and images removed. It was harvested automatically and some text content may not have been fully captured correctly. A copy of the full article is available (off-line) at the Lesbian and Gay Archives of New Zealand. This online version is provided for personal research and review and does not necessarily reflect the views or opinions of If you have queries or concerns about this article please email us