Article Title:Labour MPs against CU named
Category:New Zealand Daily News
Author or News Staff
Published on:23rd June 2004 - 12:00 pm
Story ID:2386
Text:The civil union vote in Parliament could be very close, as a number of MPs have expressed major reservations about the bill. It is not clear what those reservations are. The NZ Herald has named eight Labour MPs expected to vote against the bill. They are: Taito Phillip Field, Dover Samuels, Clayton Cosgrove, Damien O'Connor, Harry Duynhoven, Janet Mackey, Paul Swain and John Tamihere. Tamihere described himself as a “red-blooded Kiwi male” on radio last week. Labour MP Chris Carter yesterday said he would be lobbying other Labour MPs who were against the bill. "Its been in our policy since 1999 and, in fact, in our pledge card when we join the Labour Party we guarantee that we will not discriminate against people on race, religion or sexual orientation," he said. "So, quite frankly, I find it difficult to understand how any Labour member couldn't support that." Meanwhile, two NZ First MPs will defy leader Winston Peters and vote for the Bill. Brian Donnelly and Ron Mark will support the bill at least in its first stage.    
Disclaimer:This page displays a version of the article with all formatting and images removed. It was harvested automatically and some text content may not have been fully captured correctly: access this content at your own risk. A copy of the full article is available (off-line) at the Lesbian and Gay Archives of New Zealand. This online version is provided for personal research and review and does not necessarily reflect the views or opinions of If you have queries or concerns about this article please email us
Reproduction note:Just before closed in May 2017, the website owners wrote this article about reproducing content from the website: "our work has always been available for glbti people to use and all we ask is that you not plagiarise it... if you use it anywhere please attribute it to and where there is an authors name attached please acknowledge that writer."